Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu
New Releases

Tokyo label Diskopia drops annual free album

15-track compilation features label founders BD1982 and A Taut Line

  • Rylee Chow
  • 13 January 2020
Tokyo label Diskopia drops annual free album

In what’s become an annual tradition, Diskopia released its sixth yearly pay-what-you-want compilation 'DSK F/W 2019-2020 Free Compilation' in late December. With 15 exclusive tracks featuring label founders BD1982 and A Taut Line, as well as their affiliates Silvestre and Myakkahand and contributors Aemong, Ando Laj and Memotone, the compilation can be streamed online for free.

The compilation follows the label’s ethic: to create a 'barrier-free approach to quality electronic music’. Without any fixed genre policy, Diskopia showcases a free-flow of sound that covers techno, house and trance styles among their featured artists’ tracks. For those new to the label, you can start with label owner BD1982. This US-born, Tokyo based DJ always surprises with a mix of deep house, tropical and industrial elements in his tracks. Silvestre is another standout with his funky house jam ‘Moving Out’, a bouncy track with big jumping jazzy chords. Listen to their compilation here.

Starting as a DJ and visual collective in Japan in 2010, Diskopia developed into a record label in 2015. For the past 6 years Diskotopia has been releasing an annual compilation for listeners to enjoy through the holiday season. Past featured artists include Tokyo DJ and producer Mars89 and Foodman, as well as internationals such as Filter Dread.

[Via Diskopia]

Load the next article