Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu
Asia News

'Pacific Breeze 2’ deep dives into Japan’s beloved city pop scene from its bubble-era

The compilation features 16 hard-to-find Japanese city pop cuts from the 70s and 80s

  • Rylee Chow
  • 17 March 2020
'Pacific Breeze 2’ deep dives into Japan’s beloved city pop scene from its bubble-era

Light In The Attic, a Seattle-based label, has released a second compilation album that is reminiscent of Japan's bubble-era of city pop, AOR and boogie music from the 70s and 80s.

Following their first success of the release called 'Pacific Breeze', Light In The Attic delivers a second rare archival album from Japan's old city pop scene. Released on earlier this week, 'Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1972-1986' includes 16 rare tracks dug up from the label's archives that have barely been heard before outside of Japan. From the pop-funk of Bread & Butter and Eiichi Ohtaki to crate-digging favourites like Eri Ohno and Piper, the compilation constructs an "amalgam of AOR, R&B, jazz fusion, funk, boogie and disco, all a touch dizzy with tropical euphoria". Iconic Japanese city pop queens Tomoko Aran and Anri also feature in the selection.

Listen to the hidden and lost timeless classics from the compilation here.

'Pacific Breeze 2' artwork is designed by the renowned Tokyo-based illustrator Hiroshi Nagai, whose tropical imagery creates a nostalgic vibe of the leisure lifestyle from the 70s and 80s in Tokyo. Plenty of ultra-cool merch is also available on the Light In The Attic website.

Light In The Attic has been well known for reissuing timeless music around the globe. They have released over 200 instant classics including Wheedle's Groove and the reintroduction of Sixto Rodriguez. They started out by producing live concerts but late debuted as a record label in 2002 with an album reissue from hip-hop pioneers The Last Poets.

Pacific Breeze was released on May 3 2019 and documented Japan's blast into the stratosphere, and the birth of an audio analogue called city pop. It featured key players in the Japanese city pop scene from the 70s and 80s. Listen to it here.

See the ‘Pacific Breeze 2’ tracklist below:

1. Pink Shadow - Bread & Butter
2. Yubikiri - Eiichi Ohtaki
3. Vibration (Love Celebration) - Kimiko Kasai
4. Kindaichi Kosuke No Theme - The Mystery Kindaichi Band
5. Hidari Mune No Seiza - Tetsuji Hayashi
6. Last Summer Whisper - Anri
7. Blind Curve - Momoko Kikuchi
8. I'm In Love - Tomoko Aran
9. Kindaichi Kosuke Nishi E Iku - Yu Imai
10. Tokyo Taste - Sadistics
11. Hot Sand - Piper
12. Rainy Saturday Coffee Break - Junko Ohashi & Minoya Central Station
13. Skyfire - Eri Ohno
14. Kanpoo - Yumi Murata
15. Harumifutou - Kyoko Furuya
16. Bay/Sky Provincetown 1977 - Yuji Toriyama

'Pacific Breeze 2: Japanese City Pop, AOR & Boogie 1972-1986' is out on March 15 via Light In The Attic. Order the album here.

Load the next article