Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Nominees revealed for MOBOs Best Electronic/Dance act supported by BEMA & Mixmag

Aluna, Shygirl and TSHA have all received first time nominations, while Nia Archives returns after winning the award last year

  • 17 December 2023
Nominees revealed for MOBOs Best Electronic/Dance act supported by BEMA & Mixmag

The Music of Black Origin Awards (MOBOS) have announced that Aluna, Nia Archives, Pinkpantheress, salute, Shygirl and TSHA are the nominees for the 2024 Best Electronic/Dance act.

Addressing the need to represent electronic and dance music at the awards, MOBOs worked in conjunction with the Black Electronic Music Association, Club BEMA, to reintroduce the MOBOs Best Electronic/Dance award last year, with junglist Nia Archives winning the 2022 edition.

Read this next: Black Artist Database launch new label with compilation album ‘Synergy’

The star behind the UP YA ARCHIVES series had sent a handwritten letter to the MOBOs team earlier the same year, saying that "I can't help but feel that your lack of support has been massively regressive for the Black community and for prepresentation of these genres and the artists operating within them."

The young DJ and producer felt much more positively following the reintroduction of the electronic and dance music category, and toasted the awards as an "amazing representation of just how healthy the scene is," when speaking to Mixmag last year.

Nia Archives will be joined by last year's Best Female Act winner Pinkpantheress, who released her debut album 'Heaven Knows' last month to rave reviews and is also up for this year's Best Female Act award, house DJ and producer phenomenon salute, Aluna, whose sophomore 'MYCELiUM' project has received fanfare from critics and fans a like, rapper, DJ, singer-songwriter sensation Shygirl and, last but not least, the multitalented DJ, producer and singer TSHA.

Read this next: TSHA selects five producers who will define the next generation

Outside of the Best Electronic/Dance act, nominees include Ama Lou, Central Cee, Dave, Ezra Collective, J Hus, Jorja Smith and RAYE for categories such as Best Male and Female Acts, Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Newcomer and more.

Following the celebration of hip hop's 50th anniversary on August 11 2023, MOBOs have selected Avelino, Clavish, Digga D, ENNY, Fredo, Giggs, Little Simz, Loyle Carner, Nines and Potter Payper as its nominees for the prestigious award.

Buy tickets to the 26th MOBOs awards in Sheffield here

Tibor Heskett is Mixmag's Digital Intern, follow him on Twitter

Load the next article