Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Jamie xx shares details of long-awaited second album ‘In Waves’

Nine years on from 'In Colour', the new record is set to feature collaborations from the likes of Robyn, The Avalanches, John Glacier and more

  • 8 June 2024
Jamie xx shares details of long-awaited second album ‘In Waves’

Jamie xx has shared details of his long-awaited second album, ‘In Waves’, set to land on Young this September.

Nine years on from his debut album ‘In Colour’, the London-born artist has teased the project with new single 'Treat Each Other Right' — which will join April's Honey Dijon collaboration ‘Baddy On The Floor’, among other recently released singles on the upcoming record.

Read this next: The xx are back in the studio working on a new album, Romy reveals

The 12-track album is set for release on September 20, and is set to feature collaborations from Robyn, The Avalanches, Kelsey Lu, John Glacier and Panda Bear, Oona Doherty and his The xx bandmates Romy and Oliver Sim.

Recently, Jamie has been sharing snippets from the upcoming release at his London residency named The Floor.

Playing for 10 consecutive nights at Venue MOT last month, Jamie called in the likes of Charli XCX, MJ Cole, Daphni, Nick Léon, Jockstrap and more to make one-off appearances behind the decks.

Speaking on his new album, Jamie xx shares: “My new album, 'In Waves' will be out on September 20th. I am so unbelievably happy.

Read this next: Jamie xx releases new single ‘It’s So Good’

“It’s been a while… and a lot has happened in that time. Ups and downs, growing up, figuring stuff out and then forgetting it all many times over. Life-changing events and world-changing events. These waves that we have all experienced together and alone.”

He adds: “I wanted to make something fun, joyful and introspective all at once. The best moments on a dance floor are usually that for me.”

‘In Waves’ will be available digitally, on CD and vinyl with a deluxe LP also up for grabs featuring bonus tracks ‘It’s So Good’, ‘KILL DEM’ and ‘LET’S DO IT AGAIN’ and two exclusive new tracks ‘Do Something’ and ‘F U’ featuring Erykah Badu.

Pre-order ‘In Waves’ here and take a listen to Jamie xx’s new single ‘Treat Each Other Right’ below.

Load the next article