Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Beyoncé enlists help of Honey Dijon, Green Velvet and Skrillex on new album ‘Renaissance’

The album is set to be heavily influenced by dance music sounds

  • Aneesa Ahmed
  • 25 July 2022
Beyoncé enlists help of Honey Dijon, Green Velvet and Skrillex on new album ‘Renaissance’

Beyoncé's ‘Renaissance’ is dropping next week, and the list of credits and features on the ne record have just been dropped.

It looks like Beyoncé has enlisted help from some of the most notable figures in modern music to help out in her latest album — including some of dance music's most prolific pioneers.

This list of names spans across the musical spectrum as we see everyone from Honey Dijon (‘Cozy’), Skrillex (‘Energy’), Green Velvet (‘Cozy’), Drake (‘Heated’), A.G Cook (‘All Up In Your Mind’), Boi-1da (‘Heated’), and Labrinth (‘Alien Superstar’).

While the list shows which track each musician has been involved with, it does not clarify whether they were involved in vocals, production, composition, or a combination.

Read this next: I love models: why so many fashion models are becoming DJs

We know that we can expect to hear vocals on some of the tracks where Beyoncé has clarified there will be featured by established and emerging musical superstars. This includes the likes of Tems (‘Move’), Grace Jones (‘Move’) and Beam (‘Energy’).

It has also been revealed that the album will include tracks that sample Donna Summer, Daft Punk collaborator Giorgio Moroder, and Right Said Fred — all of which allude to the album having dance, soul, and house sounds infused within it.

In March rumours were spreading about Honey Dijon and Beyoncé's collaboration before any confirmed news of new dance-infused music from Beyoncé came about.

‘Renaissance’ is dropping on July 29 through Parkwood Entertainment and Columbia Records.

The album was announced last month with the release of the single ‘BREAK MY SOUL', the house music-infused track that has taken the internet by storm. The track sampled house music legend Robin S.’ 1990-released track ‘Show Me Love’.

Read this next: 20 summer sizzlers for discerning ears 2022

A cover interview with British Vogue confirmed that Bey’s new album would be heavily dance-infused.

When describing the music, British Vogue Editor-in-Chief Edward Enniful said that the “soaring vocals and fierce beats” transported him “back to the clubs of his youth” - and referenced the sounds from garage to excess that could be heard in the tracks.

There will be 16 tracks in ‘Renaissance’. View the full track list for ‘Break My Soul’ below:

1. I’m That Girl

2. Cozy

3. Alien Superstar

4. Cuff It

5. Energy

6. Break My Soul

7. Church Girl

8. Plastic Off the Sofa

9. Virgo’s Groove

10. Move

11. Heated

12. Thique

13. All Up in Your Mind

14. America Has a Problem

15. Pure/Honey

16. Summer Renaissance

Aneesa Ahmed is Mixmag's Digital Intern, follow her on Twitter