Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu
New Releases

​Róisín Murphy announces new album 'Hit Parade' with DJ Koze

The collaborative record will land on Ninja Tune this September

  • Gemma Ross
  • 25 May 2023
​Róisín Murphy announces new album 'Hit Parade' with DJ Koze

Róisín Murphy and DJ Koze have linked up to create a 13-track collaborative album, ‘Hit Parade’, landing this September.

The record is due to be released on Ninja Tune later this year, marking the Irish singer’s debut full-length release on the label and a celebration of 30 years of her illustrious career.

‘Hit Parade’ spans multiple genres and sounds across 13 tracks, made entirely in collaboration with German producer DJ Koze.

“We worked remotely, in different countries sending tracks/ideas back and forth for several years,” Murphy says on the record. “I always have to approach a new collaboration with openness and a willingness to learn and never more so than with this.”

Read this next: Ninja Tune releases second music-making app for iOS & Android, Jamm Pro

“The studio in this case was imaginary, in the airspace between Hamburg and London. That meant we were both in a personal, private place when working on the songs. For me that brought out a more intimate approach to the songwriting, I told this album my secrets. For Koze it meant total freedom and absolute focus without the distraction of my presence.”

The first single from the record, 'CooCool' landed in March. The soulful cut was described by Murphy as a “stupidly romantic little love poem”.

“It’s a joyful record, I’ve never been happier, that is partly down to personal reasons but also in my work I’ve been very fulfilled,” she added. “For me the record is about love and sensuality but also it’s about music itself and how it’s always been there for me.”

Read this next: MMA Radio: Kiss Nuka’s ethereal electronica mix channels early rave days in Goa

Last week, the pair released their second new single from the record titled ‘The Universe’, featuring Murphy’s unmistakable vocals and warbling, psychedelic guitar licks.

Alongside the album’s announcement, Róisín Murphy also revealed that she’s due to headline Alexandra Palace on February 17, 2024, following the record’s release.

Listen to the pair’s new track ‘The Universe’ below, check out the record’s tracklist, and pre-order ‘Hit Parade’, landing on Ninja Tune on September 8, here.

1. What Not To Do
2. CooCool
3. The Universe
4. Hurtz So Bad
5. The House
6. Spacetime
7. Fader
8. Free Will
9. You Knew
10. Can’t Replicate
11. Crazy Ants Reprise
12. Two Ways
13. Eureka

Gemma Ross is Mixmag's Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter

Load the next article