Search Menu
Home Latest News Menu

Final Lee 'Scratch' Perry album to be released in 2024

'King Perry' will come out on February 2 via False Idols

  • 20 November 2023
Final Lee 'Scratch' Perry album to be released in 2024

False Idols has announced that dub pioneer Lee "Scratch" Perry's final album, 'King Perry', will be released on its imprint in February 2024.

The project is the last collaboration between reggae producer Daniel Boyle and the Jamaican composer, singer and record producer, which had already brought us 2014's Grammy nominated 'Back At The Controls' and 2019's 'Black Album'.

'King Perry' marks Perry's decision to make "something new, something different but still with a dub framework."

Featuring alongside him, and underneath Boyle's productions, are none other than Greentea Peng, Shaun Ryder, Tricky, Marta, Rose Waite and Fifi Rong. False Idols boss Tricky also co-produced two of the tracks album. The entirety of 'King Perry' was conceived, written and recorded during the pandemic.

Boyle cites genres as varied as synthwave, big beat, drum 'n' bass and electronica as influences behind the project.

The album's closer 'Goodbye' poignantly includes Perry's last ever recorded vocal performance.

Boyle revealed to Resident Advisor that the track centres on Perry "musing about going back to being a baby and being reborn."

"When the music stops, he just says 'goodbye'."

Lee "Scratch" Perry's catalogue as an artist includes releases for Island Records, Trojan, Adrian Sherwood's On-U Sound, Mad Professor's Ariwa and many more. He was incredibly influential in the '70s, working with the likes of Bob Marley and The Wailers, The Clash, Beastie Boys, Max Romeo, Junior Murvin and The Orb.


- Lee Scratch Perry and Greentea Peng '100lbs of Summer'
- Lee Scratch Perry 'Evil Generation'
- Lee Scratch Perry ft. Fifi Rong 'Midnight Blues'
- Lee Scratch Perry 'King of the Animals'
- Lee Scratch Perry and Shaun Ryder 'Green Banana'
- Lee Scratch Perry 'Jesus Life'
- Lee Scratch Perry ft. Marta 'King of the Animals'
- Lee Scratch Perry 'No Illusion'
- Lee Scratch Perry ft. Rose Waite 'The Person I Am'
- Lee Scratch Perry ft. Greentea Peng 'Jah People in Blue Sky'
- Lee Scratch Perry ft. Tricky and Marta 'Future of My Music'
- Lee Scratch Perry 'Goodbye'

You can pre-order Lee "Scratch" Perry's final album here.

Tibor Heskett is Mixmag's Digital Intern, follow him on Twitter

Load the next article